Hello. Please sign in!

APA Members - New Scholarship Funding Campaign!

Published: April 27, 2017 at 3:04PM

Each year, the Accessibility Professionals Association (APA), based in Texas, funds and awards their Jim Boyce Memorial Scholarship. They honor Jim Boyce with this scholarship by providing financial assistance to college students of design in a variety of construction related careers. Along with this area of study they need to demonstrate a keen interest in accessibility. The Jim Boyce Memorial Scholarship was established by the Accessibility Professionals Association (APA), to honor and recognize their friend and colleague Jim Boyce. Jim was formerly a Plan Review Manager with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and was one of the drafters of the Texas Accessibility Standards (TAS), in 1994. When Jim retired from TDLR, he became a Registered Accessibility Specialist (RAS) and was among the Charter Members of APA. The success of APA is in large part due to Jim’s leadership in its earlier years.

The Jim Boyce Memorial Scholarship is solely funded by the membership. Each year they hold a Silent Auction and raise approximately $2,500, and have relied on only this fundraising means for some time. However, in order to raise additional funds, award more or larger amounts in the future to deserving students and to diversify our fundraising base, they are coming back to the membership for donations.

For the 2017 scholarship year, they are renewing a FUND CAMPAIGN for the Jim Boyce Memorial Scholarship! Please consider making a cash donation to support this APA scholarship. Any dollar amount is welcomed. 
Thanks to a generous kick-off donation from one of their members, the JBMS Fund Campaign is off to a great start! See the APA website home page for progress and click here to join in the donation program.

This Year's Jim Boyce Memorial Scholarship Recipients

This year's JBMS recipients are: 

Sara Joyce Williams from the University of Texas at Arlington: CAPPA- School of Architecture

Olivia S. Ross  from the Texas Tech University: Major - Landscape Architecture