Hello. Please sign in!

AFB Calls for Migel Medal Nominations

Published: August 26, 2017 at 5:08PM

From the American Foundation for the Blind:

American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) logo

The American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) announces an invitation for nominations for the 2017 Migel Medal, the highest honor in the blindness field. The Migel Medal was established in 1937 by M.C. Migel, the first chairperson of AFB, to honor those whose dedication and achievements have significantly improved the lives of people with vision loss. Past honorees include legendary disability-rights advocate, Helen Keller, Senator Tom Harkin, social entrepreneur and engineer, Jim Fruchterman, and renowned educators, Kathleen Mary Huebner, Ph.D. and Philip H. Hatlen, Ed.D.

Nominees should be those whose life work affects services to people with vision loss on a national level. Prospective candidates include, but are not limited to, professionals with specific training and expertise in education, rehabilitation, technology, vision rehabilitation, personnel preparation, health, administration, or related fields. They may work in the public or private sector.

Nominations for AFB's Migel Medal are due by October 15, 2017, and should be e-mailed to George Abbott, Director, AFB Press and Professional Development, at gabbott@afb.net.

Nominators should send a one-page description of the nominee and his/her accomplishments or fill out our online nomination form at www.afb.org/MigelNomination. You must also submit two letters of recommendation with the nomination.